DN Sails - Notice, Special Ruling and New Interpretations 11-21-2011

(1/1)

Geoff Sobering:
The technical committee has issued some interpretations on the DN sail.
See the PDF file for the official notice.

1) New interpretation
11/20/2011. In Specification G.8. the leech is a straight line from the head to the
clew. Reference Specification G.17 and Interpretations G. Sail.2) New interpretation.
11/20/2011. In Specification G.17 the spelling of the word "leach" is corrected to
"leech".3) Amend the Interpretation G. Sail dated 3/18/89 to read:
11/20/2011 A previous interpretation dated 3/18/89 is amended to read as
follows: In Specifications G.8. G.17 and G.24 the location of the
forward upper corner of the headboard is determined by projecting
a straight line parallel to the luff (excluding the bolt rope) to the point
where it intersects with a line projected from the uppermost point of
the headboard and perpendicular to the luff.4) The Governing Committee announces a special ruling to read:
The IDNIYRA Governing Committee has made a Special Ruling effective
11/20/2011. The batten pockets in all sails made prior to 1/1/2012 shall lie at 90
degrees plus or minus 8 degrees to the leech. These sails may be
used in all DN races, including all championships. All other sails
must comply with Specification G.8.

Ken Smith:
The batten pockets in all sails made prior to 1/1/2012 shall lie at 90
degrees plus or minus 8 degrees to the leech.

Did you mean all sails made AFTER 1-1-2012?

Geoff Sobering:
Quote from: Ken Smith on November 25, 2011, 10:37:05 PM

The batten pockets in all sails made prior to 1/1/2012 shall lie at 90
degrees plus or minus 8 degrees to the leech.

Did you mean all sails made AFTER 1-1-2012?


No. It's a "grandfather clause".

Navigation

[0] Message Index