DN NA Class  

DN America Forums

March 28, 2024, 03:12:53 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mast Rake and shroud tension  (Read 15536 times)
mikest29

« on: January 13, 2015, 02:25:34 PM »

I am new to ice boating .  I bought my first DN this year and am wondering about the correct amount of mast rake and stay tension . My stays are very loose . I have been hobie catting for a long time and know there is a specific tension that you want on the stays. Any suggestions?

Thanks

Mike

My boat is older hull style with an aluminum mast.
DN5358

« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2015, 07:18:42 PM »

Ron provides a tuning guide that is a great place to start the voodoo magic that is tuning a dn. 

http://iceboatracing.com/dntuning.html
KB [us5219]
Class Member

« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2015, 09:38:08 AM »

So first a disclaimer:  Aluminum masts don't bend like glass and carbon ones.   Some aren't designed to bend much at all, while others are pretty nimble.  If the mast bends past a certain point it will kink, bend, or break.  And with aluminum spars you want to be careful not to push that limit.  IF you know the brand of spar, someone here might be able to give you some pointers on how much bend it could take.

Generally speaking, stay tensions will vary based upon sailor weight, plank stiffness, and spar stiffness. 
IF your spar is bending TOO MUCH, then you will want to do one or more of the following:
(In more or less this order):

Lower Halyard (Especially if you cannot two-block when sheeting as hard as you can).
Shorten forestay (may also improve pointing). 
Tighten side stays.
Move mast base AFT
Move Plank AFT
If it bends too much while you are sailing SHEET OUT!  A few inches of sheet might be all it takes to save your spar.

OF course you may reverse those items if you don't have enough bend.