DN NA Class  

DN America Forums

May 01, 2024, 12:42:38 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Help needed with plank construction  (Read 9717 times)
DNewbie

« on: January 13, 2009, 12:23:11 PM »

Hey all,
I’m currently in the throes of building a DN and need some help. I have no ice boating experience whatsoever and currently am not in contact with any members of the iceboating community. My only resource for information has been what I can glean off the ‘net. I’m a fairly competent builder of small wooden boats such as kayaks, rowing shells, etc. I’ve discovered that I really like building from well thought out plans, not having the time, patience or resources to experiment with my own ideas. I’ve just completed a hull using Paul Goodwin’s hull plans, which are excellent, and am now ready to build a plank but don’t have a firm plan for going about this. I’ve got a set of Gougeon’s 1986 plans and also the IDNIYRA’s ’91 plans. Given the dates of these, I’m wondering if the specifications are still considered appropriate.

Gougeon’s plans call for a hollow plank and have a table of offsets that produce an elliptical shape with a flat section in the middle for the hull to rest on. Hollow planks seem to have fallen out of favor but I’m wondering if the table of offsets is still valid for solid plank construction.

IDNIYRa’s plans call for solid construction but are very limited in detail. The plans merely state that the plank should be built to a “natural curve” with a height of 3” at the center with no clue how this should be accomplished. I’d imagine this means building a jig using an arc of a circle to determine the stations but I’m not sure.